Make your own free website on

The Chakras

Chakras are electromagnetic energy fields contained in the human body. The word "chakra" itself comes from the ancient Sanskrit, meaning wheel of light. In Biblical writings, they are referred to as the Seven Stars and the Seven Churches. They are like miniature vortexes that spin. When they are "balanced", all of the physical, mental and emotional elements of the human function in a healthy and cooperative way. There are colors, minerals, animals, elements, and glands that are associated with each chakra. The chakras are located throughout the body in relation to the location of certain hormonal glands.

The Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

Location: just over the top of the head
Colour: white
Function: the connection to the Universal 
Mind, the God-Spirit, divine inspiration, 
the higher beings, the superconscious mind
Body: ketheric
Gland: pituitary
Animal: kachina
Element: magnetum
Gemstone: diamond
Contained within this centre are counterparts 
of all the seven major chakras.

The Ajna, Third Eye or Brow Chakra

Location: near the area of the third eye in 
Colour: purple
Function: the connection to the "spirit world"; 
insights, inspiration, spirit guides, etc
Body: celestial
Gland: pineal
Animal: archetypes, all spirits living & dead
Element: radium
Gemstone: alexandrite

The Vishuddha or Throat Chakra

Location: at the throat
Colour: blue
Function: controls the expression of conscious 
thought through speech
Body: etheric
Gland: thyroid
Animal: human/hierophant
Element: ether
Gemstone: lapis & sapphire
This is the chakra that gives the most people 
problems as it is often constricted or closed, for 
many have been restricted from speaking freely 
throughout their lives.

The Anahata or Heart Chakra

Location: in the area of the diaphragm
Colour: green
Function: relates to those things which touch the 
heart as an emotional center as opposed to a physical 
muscle, such as teachers of spirituality, religion, 
philosophy, theosophy, and other things of the heart
Body: astral
Gland: thymus
Animal: 4 legged mammals
Element: earth
Gemstone: emerald
Through this centre one learns to radiate love flowing 
from the soul into the outside world.  This Chakra is 
often in conflict with the 2nd.

Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: in the solar plexus
Colour: yellow
Function: the chakra of the intellect, of mental 
abilities, of all things of the mind
Body: mental
Gland:  pancreas
Animal: birds
Element: air
Gemstone: topaz & peridot
This centre is considered the great clearing house 
for all energies below the diaphragm before they 
are transferred to the appropriate centres above.

Svadhistana or Sacral Chakra

Location: above the navel
Colour: orange
Function: often referred to as the "seat of the 
soul", it controls the emotions, feelings, and 
those things which touch our emotions; both 
good and bad
Body: emotional
Gland: gonads
Animal: aquatic animals
Element: water
Gemstone: aquamarine

Muladhara, Kundalini or Base Chakra

Location: at the base of the spine
Colour: red
Function: controls the physical functions of 
the body, sex, procreation, relationships 
with other people
Body: physical
Gland: adrenals
Animal: snake,
Element: Fire
Gemstone: ruby
When our 1st chakra is blocked, it may mean we 
need to become more "grounded" with Mother Earth, 
as it is considered our connection to the earth.

Further reading: Wheels of Light by Rosalyn L. Bruyere, The Donning International Encyclopedic Psychic Dictionary by Dr. June Bletzer


Back to Meditation Page